The AP Re-organization Act 2014 provided for the bifurcation of the state of Andhra Pradesh with effect from June 2, 2014, and the new states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana were formed. The new state of Andhra Pradesh has 13 districts – Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Nellore, Prakasam, Kadapa, Kurnool, Ananthapur and Chittoor.

Andhra Pradesh is strategically located on the Southeast coast of India and is a natural gateway to East & Southeast Asia. Andhra Pradesh has abundant natural resources like Barytes, Limestone, Bauxite and a number of minor minerals. Andhra Pradesh, over the years, has established a strong presence in mining and mineral processing sectors. .


  1. The State Department of Mines and Geology started functioning under the name and style as "Hyderabad Geological Survey" (HGS) during the year 1921 A.D. The functions of the HGS were: carrying systematic survey, preparation of information on the mineral resources and technical advises on geology and mineral occurrences to Government as well as private persons.
  2. Until the year 1951 the functions of geological survey and inspection of mines were carried out both by the Department of Mines and Hyderabad Geological Survey.
  3. In the year 1951 within Federal Financial Integration, the Hyderabad Geological Survey was merged with Geological Survey of India.
  4. After the formation of State of Andhra Pradesh, the functions of granting of mineral concessions and quarries were transferred to the Revenue Department. The Department of Mines and Geology was looking after the technical aspects and advising the Government on the desirability of grant of mineral concessions.
  5. To help the Revenue Department to collect royalties, to control illicit mining and transportation of ores some additional administrative machinery was necessary. The Government established a Regional Office under the charge of Assistant Director of Mines and Geology, Kurnool vide G.O.Ms. No. 1341, Ind. Dept., dated 07-09-61 to deal with the mines work of the (3) Districts of Rayalaseema viz., Kadapa, Kurnool and Anantapur.
  6. On finding the usefulness of new office at Kurnool, the Government established the 2nd Regional Office at Warangal under the charge of another Assistant Director of Mines & Geology in the year 1964 to look after the mineral regulatory work in the entire Telangana Region. Later, (3) more Regional offices were established in the year 1967 at Nellore, Vijayawada & Visakhapatnam covering the entire coastal area of the State.
  7. Introduction of permit system in the year 1975 made it obligatory on the part of mine owners to pay royalty in advance and obtain permits from respective Assistant Directors of Mines & Geology before transporting minerals from the leased areas.
  8. The departmental set up in the State of Andhra Pradesh is as follows:
    • Directorate of Mines & Geology, Vijayawada
    • (4) Joint Director of Mines & Geology Offices
    • (13) Deputy Director of Mines & Geology Offices
    • (22) Assistant Director of Mines & Geology Offices
    • (5) Regional Vigilance Squads